116/365 – Bake day


It appears that yesterday’s request for the rain to go away has worked. *Everybody cheers!* The sun has shone pretty much non-stop today with only the odd shower to break up the brightness. Saying that I didn’t really notice it rain, I just saw that it had.

As I was in school yesterday I had a day off today which was very novel. It always feels better when you get a day off that you don’t usually get; feels like a bonus. So, what did I spend my free day doing? Well, I decided I’d make a quiche, probably not the first thing people usually think of doing with a day off from work. I actually made two, a Quiche Lorraine and a a cheese and onion. I think I like the latter better simply because we always have quiche Lorraine, but they are both very tasty if I do say so myself.

The last time I made a quiche from scratch was way back in I don’t know when at school. There are only a few things I actually remember making in food technology, egg salad (how adventurous that was!), pizza swirls which everyone made in Year 7 but were undoubtably extremely tasty and a rather novel way of using up left over pastry, and finally quiche. When I made it all those years ago I don’t think it turned out how it was meant to and it had to be remade. Oh well, for my first proper attempt since I was about 11 or 12, I have to say I’m rather impressed. It’s not often that a whole recipe works out how it’s meant to, I even managed to make the pastry myself! I’ve sampled a slice of each one (had to be done) and they’re both scrummy. The only downside to quiche is that it does seem to take a hell of a long time to make; it would have also been a lot cheaper to have just gone out and bought one – but where’s the fun in that!?!

I am convinced that I am the one who introduced quiche to America.
James Beard

Follow my 365:
www.benlowephotography.co.uk/project365
www.twitter.com/benlowe3
www.flickr.com/photos/benlowe
www.facebook.com/benlowephotography