030/365 – Robin Redbreast


You know when you have those days when you think so much about nothing that you then can’t think when you need to? I think today has been one of them.

It was nice to venture a little further afield today to a place where I used to always go as a child, Barr Beacon. I haven’t been here since last summer, but today Dad and I decided to take our little Westie, Jack (who I promise you will meet soon) on an adventure, as well as take some photos along the way.

Despite it being rather cold, the sun was out and it was pleasent walking high above the world. Rumour has it that you can see Wales from the top of Barr Beacon. We couldn’t quite make it out but we could see for miles around.

Of all the skylines, trees, bushes and pylons I photographed today, it was this little Robin that caught my attention the most. Here he (or even she!) stands, perched on his branch, minding his own business without a care in the world. I often wonder what it must be like for animals and wildlife, not really knowing what goes on in this big wide world, and then I think it’s probably quite nice. I imagine it’s very much like when you’re a child, when you think you’re invincible and the only things you really have to worry about are homework. Those were the days.

If only we could all forget our troubles and live care free, just for a day…

Be as a bird perched on a frail branch that she feels bending beneath her, still she sings away all the same, knowing she has wings.”
– Victor Hugo

Follow my 365:






www.benlowephotography.co.uk/project365





www.365project.org/benlowephoto





www.facebook.com/benlowephotography