322/365 – Grated


You’ll remember I didn’t go to archery last week as I was very tired after my exciting bonfire party the night before. That’s probably the reason why I was totally rubbish this afternoon then. Well, I think totally rubbish would be a bit of an over-exaggeration – I was at least hitting the target unlike the first couple of weeks when I was missing them by a mile. We were shooting at the smaller targets again and most the time my arrows were actually hitting the paper which is good. There were a lot of new people today and so they had the big target to shoot at. Comparing the position of the arrows on my little target, generally in the white or black circles, to the same location they’d be if I was shooting on the bigger target meant they would actually have been in the blues most of the time. There’s obviously something I’m doing wrong and it’s likely to be something very minor. There’s so much to think about when shooting arrows – posture, stance, sight etc. etc. I was concentrating on my draw today so maybe that was why I wasn’t paying as much attention as to where my arrows were going to end up. Anyway, there’s always next time.

Once again, we’re going all black and white – I don’t know why I didn’t think about having themed weeks earlier, helps you get creative with your subjects! It’s a simple one, but an image that I think is rather effective. It’s an air vent, I think, and converting it to mono gives it a more menacing appearance I feel. Plus, the tiny wisps of cobweb stand out much more and make it look rather scary. There’s also a bit of mystery and you quiz yourself as to what could be lurking inside. Hopefully nothing…

“The photographic image … is a message without a code..”
Roland Barthes

Follow my 365:
www.twitter.com/benlowe3
www.flickr.com/photos/benlowe
www.facebook.com/benlowephotography