271/365 – Back to the beach


Every now and then I get a longing to be back by the sea. I was thinking that this year I’ve only been twice – once when I went to Devon in June and the other our trip to Weston in August. On neither of these occasions did I get chance to chill on the beach as such because the weather was terrible, or there wasn’t much beach to actually plonk yourself down on. We’re off to Devon again in October, although I doubt there will be a mini heatwave the week we go; it’ll probably be freezing cold. Despite all those negative points, I do really enjoy being by the sea whatever the weather.

There’s something very relaxing about the waves crashing up against the rocks, even more so if it’s a windy day I find. I often wonder what it would be like to live by the sea – everything seems to move along at a much more relaxing speed. Saying that, I would miss the bright lights of the city.

If I had the money I’d have a lovely little apartment overlooking the sea, which would be both beautiful in the summer sun and rather bracing in the winter. I think living by the sea ‘out of season’ would probably be much nicer than spending a summer there. Whilst of course, you’d have all the tourists bustling around and everything would be open, it must be nice when everyone’s gone home and everything slows down again.

Sorry, you should have butted in a little earlier – I got rather carried away there. Back to today’s image and I’ve dug this one out from my day trip to Weston on a cold Bank Holiday Monday in August. It leant itself to black and white quite nicely, the subtle tones illustrating the dull and windy weather.

“We are tied to the ocean. And when we go back to the sea, whether it is to sail or to watch – we are going back from whence we came.”
– John F Kennedy

Follow my 365:
www.twitter.com/benlowe3
www.flickr.com/photos/benlowe
www.facebook.com/benlowephotography